LSU Continuing Education


Louisiana Junior Science & Humanities Symposium

January 17-18, 2014
Lod Cook Conference Center, LSU Campus
Baton Rouge, LA

2014 Symposium Schedule

1st Place: Nicholas Larsen
; Caddo Parish Magnet H.S., "Exit Velocity of a Sphere Falling in Narrow Tubes"
2nd Place: Cole Evensky
; Caddo Parish Magnet H.S., "The Effect of HPV16 on Host Cell Interactions with the Stromal Microenvironmnet"
3rd Place: Neil Nathan
; Caddo Parish Magnet H.S., " A Prospective Study of Logarithmic Spirals and Hurricanes"
4th Place: Venkatesh Sivaraman
; Caddo Parish Magnet H.S.,"SNAP: A Novel Algorithm for Fast Global Sequence Alignment and Database Search
5th Place: Morni Modi
; Caddo Parish Magnet H.S., "Factors Influencing Canine Mammary Neoplasia"

Nicholas Larsen and Cole Evensky will represent Louisiana and present at the National JSHS event April 23-27, 2014 in Washington, D.C.  Neil Nathan will take part in a poster presentation with forty-eight other students from across the country. All three earned scholarship awards for their placement at the Louisiana Junior Science & Humanities Symposium. Venkatesh Sivaraman and Morni Modi have earned all-expense paid trips to the National JSHS event as observers. Congratulations everyone!

Poster Presenters- La-JSHS

1st Place: Natalie Wang; "My Phone or iPhone?"
2nd Place: Meghana Rao; "The Effect of Energy Drinks on MCP-1 Levels, a Biomarker for Cardiovascular Disease"
3rd Place: Jake Roberts; "The Application of Shear Stress to Determine the Expression of APP in Brain Endothelial Cells"

To learn more about how you can register for La-JSHS, please visit our website at (K-12) and review the National Symposium at

*National Association of Secondary School Principals has placed the JSHS program on the NASSP National Advisory List of Contests and Activities for 2013-14. 

An example of a student presentation courtesy of DoDDS Dependents Schools- Europe and the National JSHS Program.


Contact Us:

LSU Continuing Education
1225 Pleasant Hall
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
(225) 578-6672

Past Winners: